People have a different picture of Montana state. Some applaud it for its stunning mountains, others for its beautiful rural lands, while car lovers call it a haven for car registration.
Montana car registration comes with many advantages, not to mention that the process is quite straightforward too. You can register your car without a driver’s license, but you must meet some requirements. Most people prefer Montana car registration because it saves them money and headaches. Here’s more about the process:
Anyone Can Legally Register Their Car In Montana
Registering a car in Montana is open to anyone from any state. Check out how to register a car in Montana, and you will be amazed at how flexible Montana’s registration service can be. After following a few steps, you will find it worth it.
You Can Register Any Vehicle In Montana
You can register all kinds of vehicles with Montana and all are sales tax-free. People with RVs opt to register them in Montana because it is cheaper than anywhere else. You can also register exotic high-end cars, saving you a lot of cash compared to registering in other states. Additionally, people registering fleets could also find many advantages here.
No Sales Tax
With the help of a reputable Montana registered agent, you can register your car without paying any tax. There has been zero tax for all vehicle types in Montana. Sometimes the sales tax drains the pockets of owners of expensive high-end cars. That’s why you will find many exotic cars with Montana plates outside the state.
Although Montana offers zero tax for car registration, you will still pay two fees, namely:
● Luxury vehicle fee: is for light luxury cars that retail over $150,000
● Motor home fee: this is meant for motor homes retailing over $300,000
The fees are price-conscious compared to sales tax because even with a state charging 4% of light luxury cars costing $15,000, the sales tax will be $6,000. The national average local sales tax is about 7.12%, so registering in Montana is still a massive bargain if you do your sums.
No Inspections Or Emission Tests
Huge sales taxes and cruel inspection requirements give car owners a headache during registration. Montana LLC requires no inspection or emission tests. You won’t go through safety inspections conducted yearly in other states. The tests are costly, making your car registration more costly. Furthermore, if your car fails the test, you cannot sell it in other states but not in Montana since there is no test.
Permanent Registration And Montana License Plate
You can buy and register your used car for a long time in Montana. Montana code states that a light vehicle with eleven and more years can permanently register at $87.50. Once you permanently register your car, there will be no renewals.
Contact 5 Star Registration or 1 Dollar Montana, 2 of the most reputable agents in the state, to help you register your vehicle. They’ll handle the paperwork for you and make sure you are compliant with the laws of the state. They will also make sure that your vehicle receives a Montana title before you can drive it. And if you live out of state, they will help you form a Montana LLC and register your car on it.